World Surfski Championship Standings 2016

With one title race left to go, Hank Mcgregor has been declared the World Surfski Series Champion, as it is mathematically impossible for him to lose the title with any result in the final race:  Perth Doctor

Hank Mcgregor

Hank Mcgregor

The women’s title, however, is up for grabs between six women.  The champion will be decided on November 26/27 with the completion of the Perth Doctor.

Impressive Women's Field at the Dragon Run

Impressive Women's Field at the Dragon Run

Top Ten Men’s Standings:

  1. Hank Mcgregor

  2. Cory Hill

  3. Dawid Mocke

  4. Matthew Bouman

  5. Jasper Mocke

  6. Kenneth Rice

  7. Barry Lewin

  8. Kyle Friedenstein

  9. Colin Simpkins

  10. Sean Rice

Top Ten Women’s Standings:

  1. Haley Nixon

  2. Jenna Ward

  3. Nikki Russell

  4. Angie Mouden

  5. Chloe Bunnett

  6. Wendy Reyntjes

  7. Teneale Hatton

  8. Rachel Clark

  9. Michele Eray

  10. Sara Rafael

Full information concerning points and standings in the World Surfski Series can be found here.

World Surfski Series Set For Big 2016 Finish

With 12 of the 17, World Series events completed it is time to reflect on what has been a very successful year so far. We have successfully ranked 733 athletes and the top 10 ranked competitors make for an interesting read, however, we still have 3 title races upcoming in November.  First up on November 6th East London's Pete Marlin, on the 12th the Hong Kong Dragon Run and  on November the 26th the Perth Doctor. We are likely to see some large shuffling in the final rankings. Hank McGregor is an example of this, Hank has won every race he has competed in, yet is only ranked 8th having only completed one title race. His ranking will change going into the final races of the year and will possibly see him at the top of the final standings. See the Current standings below.

The Current Top 10 Men.

  1. Cory Hill  (2498)
  2. Jasper Mocke (2486)
  3. Mark Anderson (2476)
  4. Oscar Chalupsky (2474)
  5. Dawid Mocke (2474)
  6. Kyle Friedenstein (1968)
  7. Colin Simpkins (1840)
  8. Hank McGregor (1500)
  9. Michael Booth (1495)
  10. Sean Rice (1494)

The Current Top 10 Women.

  1. Angie Mouden (1500)
  2. Michele Eray (1496)
  3. Haley Nixon (1495)
  4. Sara Rafael (1495)
  5. Chloe Bunnet (1493)
  6. Sofia Coelho (1487)
  7. Amaia Osaba Olaberri (1486)
  8. Wendy Reyntjies (1000)
  9. Michelle Burn (998)
  10. Nikki Mocke (994)

Sean Rice Takes The Win At The Dutch Coast Race

Upcoming World Surfski Series Races:          

  • Dragon Run, Hong Kong, China, November 12,  Title Race
  • West Coast Downwinder, November 20 - November 21, Non-Title
  • Doctor, Perth, Australia, November 26 - November 27, Title Race
  • Cape Point Challenge, Cape Town, South Africa, December 17, Non-Title

Source:  ttp://