Mcgregor Wins South African Marathon Championship

Mcgregor and Birkett dueling

Hank Mcgregor keeps the wins rolling in as he takes a hard-earned victory over Andy Birkett in the South African Marathon Championship from Zandvlei, Western Cape.

The venue presented adverse conditions, with cold temperatures and high winds creating difficulty for participants.  

In a display of class and sportsmanship, Mcgregor refused to attack rival Andy Birkett as he waited for the top contender when he fell out of his boat after a portage.

Birkett and Van Gysen chase

Racing was tight throughout, with Mcgregor just edging out Birkett and Brandon Van Der Walt at the finish. 

Nikki Russell took the win in the women's division over Bianca Beavitt, with Jane Swarsbreck in at third.

The results for this race took on increased importance, as South Africa will only have two spots available for each age category to represent at the Worlds in Germany this September.

Other surfski crossover finishers include, Simon Van Gysen at fifth, Dawid Mocke in at eighth, Jenna Ward first (U-23) and Kenny Rice, third U-23.



Senior Men

1.Hank McGregor

2.Andy Birkett

3.Brandon van der Walt

Senior Women

1.Nikki Russell

2.Bianca Beavitt

3. Jane Swarsbreck

Under 23 Men

1.Louis Hattingh

2. Nichlas Notten

3. Kenny rice

Under 23 Women

1.Jenna Ward

2.Melanie van Niekerk

3. Kerry Segal

Under 18 Boys

1.Jean van der Westhuyzen 1:36:34

2.Mark Keeling 1:38:19

3.Bailey de Fondamiere 1:43:29

Under 18 Girls

1.Kyeta Purchase 1:30:12

2.Christie McKenzie 1:32:49

3.Sabina Lawrie 1:33:23

Under 16 Boys

1.Hamish McKenzie 1:46:35

2.Sibusiso Chwayi 1:48:55

3.Dave Evans 1:49:25

Under 16 Girls

1.Keagen Keiser 1:36:11

2.Hannah Percival 1:50:45

3.Amy Peckett 1:59:42


Kenny Rice

Thanks to Kassie and John at Cape Town Sport Photography :